Coffee Review no.3

11 Apr

I want to come out and say it right away, and if you do not like it you do not have to carry on reading. This is a Starbucks coffee. That’s it, for a hell of a long time I have been avoiding Starbucks like the plague, refusing to touch an emblem featuring a weird mermaid with a ten foot pole. But I was in a slightly desperate position; I wanted somewhere to relax near to where I was staying in Paris-but the prices most cafés were charging for an espresso were extortionate. Then I saw the Starbucks placed innocently along the rue, it was busy but no so much that we were packed like sardines when trying to order something. I tried it once with a pastry I bought nearby, and then I came back for a second one and a third. I still shudder, knowing that I actually quite like the coffee in this so-familiar-that-it-become-a-bit-tacky café. Mind you, I only ever have the espresso-I have yet to build up the courage to try a ‘frapuccino’ (whatever that may be).

Onto the coffee which is if course most important, I do apologise for going on a bit earlier. The exact coffee I tried was the tribute blend which is multi origin. The beans used were from Papa New Guinea, Columbia, Sumatra and Ethiopia. This blend came with quite a strong taste, and was delightfully full-bodied which is not what i expected from Starbucks. There are tastes of a mixture of spices which gave a nice contrast ro the strength of the coffee. Acidity wise, I would say around medium as it was not too bad but it could be better. I could imagine teaming this up with a fruit cake, in particular one that has dried or non dried cherries. But it can be just as well enjoyed with that thought provoking book you have always wanted to read, and a few hours to spare.

Leave a comment